Going, going, GONE: My new eBay obsession

Photo by Daniel Oines

Photo by Daniel Oines

Okay, I’m a bit late to the party, I know, but I’m just so excited to have made my first sales on eBay that I thought it was worth a post. I signed up months ago and have been talking about getting into it and selling some of my old stuff for years, but have just never got round to actually doing it. Finally, last weekend I had some time and decided it was time to sort out my stuff and start selling. As some of you may know, I have started saving hard for next year and this is just one of the ways I am hoping to make some extra money.

So I sorted out my first batch of old party and formal dresses that I just don’t wear any more – many of them sales buys anyway from when I was at  university or even before then. Some of them were presents and some were only worn once or twice so most are in perfect condition, I just don’t have anywhere to wear them! It’s about time they had a new home with someone who will wear them on nights out and to special occasions instead of gathering dust in my wardrobe and taking up space.

I listed nine dresses and four of them sold – I was amazed that so many of them went on my first attempt and I made nearly £50 overall! One of the dresses only cost me around a fiver in the sale around two or three years ago, but it went for more than £20 – I was so pleased because that one is too big for me so it will never get worn otherwise. I even managed to sell an unworn Primark dress – didn’t think anyone would buy that one! It’s such a nice feeling to know that these dresses are going to good homes – these are the types of clothes that I usually keep because they are too nice a quality to go to the charity shop (although I do make a lot of other donations) and because they are still worth too much.

I fully intend on sorting a new batch of things to sell and hope to relist some of the dresses that didn’t sell this time. I’m using this as my way of filtering through the good stuff, making some extra money off it before donating the rest to charity shops, or even taking them to car boot sales in the summer. I’m also going to be sorting out my old books and DVDs to sell at the car boot sales and possibly some of the books online. I have just accumulated too much stuff and am looking forward to both clearing some space and making some money off the treasures that I find.

Are any of you guys avid eBayers? Have you got any tips for a novice?

Photo by Rennett Stowe

Photo by Rennett Stowe

5 responses to “Going, going, GONE: My new eBay obsession

  1. I have always wanted to sell stuff on Ebay but it just looks so complicated for a techno phobe like me.

    • Zoe I thought exactly the same and when I did it online it was, but I used the app on my iPhone instead and that made it so much simpler and quicker – definitely no-where near as complicated as I expected! I’d really recommend giving it a go 🙂 xx

  2. Thanks for the inspiration. I’ve thought about it as well. When I closed my biz I add so tired of moving that I left behind 2 mac computers, 12 phones, printersand a box of first edition books… it was crazy. I still have a number of things I could sell. Perhaps I’ll give it a go.

    • No problem – wow I’m impressed you could leave all that behind! Definitely worth a try, worst case scenario is that things don’t sell and you are stuck with them – best case is that you could cut back on your stuff and make some money 🙂 let me know how you get on! xx

What do you think about this..?